Who are the DWG?

The Dieback Working Group (DWG) was formed in 1996 by local government authorities, community groups and state government land management agencies concerned with the management of Phytophthora Dieback in Western Australia.

The objectives of the Dieback Working Group as stated in our Rules of Association are to:

  • Increase awareness and management of Phytophthora Dieback by key stakeholders;
  • Be a source of knowledge and facilitate the development of best management practices for Phytophthora Dieback;
  • Promote best practice in Phytophthora Dieback management by government, industry, NGO’s, utilities and landholders;
  • Encourage the adoption of Phytophthora Dieback best practice policy in government, industry, utilities and NGO’s and;
  • Apply for and coordinate funding applications and facilitate effective partnerships.

The Dieback Working Group is composed of an Executive Committee, a Management Committee, general members, and Executive Officer and a Project Officer (when projects are underway).

What do we do?

The Dieback Working Group seeks to meet their objectives through their Management Committee, their general members, through strong partnerships with other organisations and through their projects. The Management Committee discuss and decide on the activities, opportunities and directions that the DWG will take towards achieving their objectives.  This includes proving comment on policy, legislation and management plans.

The DWG Project Officers give their expertise to projects that result in the training, education and increased awareness of Phytophthora Dieback by stakeholders. They also support on-ground works to improve and increase management and treatment of the disease.